As I enter the 163 Annual Open – guest blog by Teresa Pemberton

Artist Network Member Teresa Pemberton talk to us about her experience of preparing and selecting her work to be entered into the 163 Annual Open Exhibition :

I am just about to enter the “Open” and see this as an opportunity  to re-evaluate my visual language and direction.  It would be easy to just take a couple of  paintings from my stock but as I have recently embarked on a new body of work I welcome this chance to put  my  paintings out there and get a reaction. This new series is exploratory and experimental. In one sense they retain what is important to me, but they also let go of past approaches.

Unearthed 61 x 61 cm mixed media on board Teresa Pemberton (2)

Unearthed 61 x 61 cm mixed media on board Teresa Pemberton (2).jpg

What Lies Beneath My Feet 61 x 61 cm mixed media on board Teresa Pemberton (2)

What Lies Beneath My Feet 61 x 61 cm mixed media on board Teresa Pemberton (2).jpg

Long since a contemporary landscape painter, I have become fascinated by pre-history and the bronze age: in particular I was inspired by the treasures discovered quite recently on Whitehorse Hill on Dartmoor.  Stories of the people inhabiting these ancient sites of stone circles and burial cists and the mysteries of their rituals and worship have fed into some recent drawings.  I have changed my painting surface from stretched canvas to board, and I am using collage as a spring board to work on rather than a final layer.  I draw and paint onto the collage and the bare board with several media, usually pencil, pastel, charcoal as well as acrylic and/or oil paint.  The board takes crisp pencil drawing very well. The square format seems appropriate as I like to think of the work as a “ pocket” or “thought” in the landscape. I would say the work is a “transformation” rather than any illustration or explanation of ideas; and I am quite excited by the new path I am taking.

Shoreline and the Sea 60 x 60 cm oil and collage on board Teresa Pemberton  (2).jpg

Shoreline and the Sea 60 x 60 cm oil and collage on board Teresa Pemberton (2).jpg

So here’s hoping that I might see one of my new works on those hallowed walls!

We are very grateful to all our guest bloggers. Want to get involved and write for the RWA contact rebecca.clay@rwa.org.uk.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “As I enter the 163 Annual Open – guest blog by Teresa Pemberton

  1. Susan Martin

    Interesting work which captivates the spirit of Dartmoor and its history. The mixture of textures helps to portray the mystical qualities of the moors.

  2. Great pics, great article x

Leave a Reply

